The Spy Who Came in from the Cold

So I’ve finished John le Carré’s 3rd novel “The Spy Who Came in from the Cold”. Very fascinating.  I wasn’t expecting how it would change my view of “Call for the Dead”.  I’m assuming that wasn’t the authors plan at the outset of his first book, but it helped to elaborate on the curious character of George Smiley.  Odd considering how little he’s in it.

It’s interesting to read a book that is mostly dialogue about philosophy and governmental morality.  The concept of how love is out of reach if all passion has left you in general is striking, seeing as that is usual the opposite in most stories.

Strangely, even though it’s set in the early days of the cold war, the conversation is still relevant.  Sadly, that must be true of most political stories.  I’m definitely finding that in the Doonesbury strips from 79/80.

I’m going to jump right into “The Looking Glass War”.  Smiley’s universe has grasped me something fierce.

Leave a comment