Thoughts on “Recently”

I’ve embraced my insomnia recently.  I’d say it was sometime over the last year;  though, it might be longer than that.  When I say this out loud to people it’s such a strange thought.  When did “the last year, give or take” become recently?

I used to say something like, “I stubbed my toe recently.”  That would mean a couple of days ago or perhaps even last week.  Now when I say something like that I walk away with the realization, that happened fucking six months ago.  Why did I say that?  Has nothing of significance happened to me since I stubbed my toe?  Surely there is something in these last six months that I could have used as a reference point for placing a better time frame on that incident besides “recently”.

I would assume that the fact I’m talking about a stubbed toe in the first place lends itself to one conclusion: Nothing interesting has happened since the stubbed toe fiasco.

It’s no better dealing with movies or books.  I’ll read/watch something and I’ll go and look it up online.  I’m a sucker for background information on anything I’ve read or watched.  I do this and think to myself, “I’m getting better at this.  It wasn’t too long ago it came out.  Way to keep your finger on the pulse, good sir.”

*buzzer sound*  Wrong!

The damn movie or book came out three years ago!  Sometimes longer!  And the worst part is, I know I’ll be having a conversation sometime in the next year (give or take) and someone will ask, “What did you think about so and so?”  I’m fairly certain my response will inevitably start with, “Oh, I just read that recently.”

Leave a comment